Brisket Biscuit Pot Pie

Brisket/biscuit dish

It was hard to decide on a name for this dish. Since the idea for it came from Alton Brown, with his Chicken Biscuit Pot Pie Recipe, I decided to name it accordingly. Even if it is a bit of a tongue twister. Yes, you can find me watching the Food Network late at night when I can’t sleep. I don’t recommend it though. The only thing worse than not being able to sleep is being convinced you’re hungry when you probably aren’t.

We were out of town for two weeks and I haven’t been shopping since we returned. We had just received our side of beef before going, so we’ve been eating beef every day and supplementing with frozen veggies I also have on hand. The day after the chicken biscuit episode aired, I found myself looking for something to make with some leftover brisket. Thus, Brisket Biscuit Pot Pie was born. For the adventuresome among you, I include the recipe. It’s a nice dinner-in-a-pinch meal.

Brisket Biscuit Pot Pie

Ingredients:

1 tsp butter
Leftover cooked brisket (or meat of choice)
Accompanying au jus from meat (or broth), about 1 cup
Any cooked veggies desired
1 Tbs. tomato paste, optional
1 Tbs. arrowroot powder
1 Tbs. liquid of choice
Seasonings to taste
1/2 biscuit recipe, found here1

Cut meat into bite-sized pieces. This is our brisket from the Bechard Family Farm.
Bechard Farm brisket

Melt butter in a dutch oven or cast iron skillet over medium-low heat. Add meat and au jus. (My meat had pieces of onion with it)
Brisket in butter
(This is a large cast iron skillet)

Add veggies. I used two bags of a Thai-style stir fry mix. The only thing out of place was the bean sprouts!
Thai-style stir fry blend

Add seasonings and tomato paste, if using. I had some leftover from a previous meal.
Brisket and veggies

Cook until meat and veggies are heated through. Mix arrowroot powder with tablespoon of liquid. I used milk, because I was pouring a glass. You can use water, additional broth, etc.
Arrowroot powder and milk

Add to meat/veggie mix, stirring until well combined. Turn mixture down to lowest setting.

Preheat oven to 450o. Mix up biscuit dough and cut out. I used a mix of white spelt and whole grain spelt.
Spelt flour biscuits

Carefully place biscuits around top of meat mixture.
Biscuits on meat mixture

Bake for 12 minutes, or until biscuits are done. Cool slightly, serve and enjoy!
Brisket Biscuit Pot Pie

1 In the link to the biscuit recipe, I use sour raw milk (which is very similar to buttermilk). The milk doesn’t have to be sour, however. In fact, much as it pains me to say this, it doesn’t have to be raw. Also, in case the instructions aren’t clear, the biscuit recipe used here is 1/2 of the recipe in the link.

This post is part of the Real Food Wednesday blog carnival.

You can follow me on Facebook by clicking on the link in the above right-hand corner.

One Response to Brisket Biscuit Pot Pie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

