Grain-free Spicy Meatloaf

Meat loaf, sweet potato latke, salad
Meatloaf, sweet potato latke, and salad with kombucha-ginger dressing.

Even though I’ve posted my friend (Rachel’s) meatloaf recipe before, and love it as is, I decided to do a post on a grain-free version for those who are following a gluten or grain-free diet (like us). It also gives me the opportunity to share how I tweaked the recipe for a new addition: hot wing sauce. I saw this mentioned in an online conversation the other day and it sounded interesting. In spite of my wonderful husband giving his best shot at taking me out to eat for Mother’s Day, I opted for staying home and staying on track with our diet. Especially since I blew it the other day when we went out and ate sushi. I even cooked a roast yesterday, so I wouldn’t have to do any cooking today, other than heating up food. But the idea of this recipe had me craving some wing sauce. I had to “wing” it (pun intended), because I only had two pounds of ground beef thawed and the recipe calls for three. That recipe is for two meatloaves, one for now and one for later. That would be easy to divide in half, but working with two-thirds of the meat called for more math than I wanted to think about. Here’s what I ended up using.

Spicy meatloaf ingredients

GF Spicy Meatloaf

Ingredients:

2 lbs ground meat (I used grass-fed beef)
2 eggs (farm fresh, pastured)
1 cup organic salsa
1/2 cup wing sauce1 (I confess, I used Franks)
1 teaspoon garlic salt
1 teaspoon onion granules
3/4 cup almond flour (I used 1/2 cup and 1/4 cup coconut flour)

Preheat oven to 400o. Put all ingredients except meat in a large bowl and mix well. I usually do this with my hand, but was concerned about the wing sauce staining; I found I was able to mix it well with a fork.
Mix all ingredients except meat

Add meat and mix until well combined (again, I used a fork). Put into large loaf pan.
Meatloaf ready to bake

I was able to fill it that full without worrying about grease spilling over, because grass-fed meat is usually lower in fat. Bake for 45 minutes or until done in center. Remove from oven and let cool for 10 minutes before serving. (By letting it cool, it absorbs some of the grease, which is minimal if you are using grass-fed meat; besides, fat from grass-fed animals is good for you)

I’d say it turned out pretty well. It certainly satisfied my craving for wing sauce and my family proclaimed it “Mom’s Day Nom!”

1 If you don’t care for spicy food, replace wing sauce with tomato sauce. Ingredients in Franks are:
* Aged Cayenne Red Peppers
* Garlic Powder
* Distilled Vinegar
* Natural Flavor
* Water
* Salt
Not bad for a processed food. Other than distilled vinegar. And natural flavor…whatever that is.

You can follow me on Facebook, where I try to provide helpful information regarding all aspects of food, by clicking on the link in the above right-hand corner.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

