Best GF Pizza

Slice of pizza

When I first heard of this pizza crust I thought it sounded interesting, to say the least. It does sound like a strange ingredient for a pizza crust. What is it? Cauliflower. Yes, that’s right; cauliflower! I came across this recipe when I was looking for the recipe for faux rice. (Frice?) I was going to make some stir fry and wanted to have something to put it on, rather than our usual meal of stir fry alone. It had been so long since I’d made faux rice, I couldn’t remember exactly how I’d made it. Anyway, after we had our stir fry dinner, I had some leftover cauliflower. I remembered another recipe I’d seen while looking for the faux rice. It was for a pizza crust that called for grated, cooked cauliflower. I really didn’t have high expectations for this pizza crust. I’m not a big fan of cauliflower and it isn’t easy to disguise its taste. Imagine my surprise when it turned out delicious and my family loved it! So, without further ado (and including my tweaks), I give you cauliflower pizza!


Best Grain-free Pizza (Ever!)

makes 1 medium pizza

Ingredients:

1 cup grated, cooked cauliflower (see first step)
1 egg
1 cup cheese
1 tsp basil
1 tsp oregano
1 tsp garlic salt
Optional: 1 tsp cumin and/or 1/2 tsp turmeric
pizza, marinara, or spaghetti sauce (approx. 1/4 cup)
additional grated cheese and other toppings

NOTE: Please see update further down for an optional (easier) way of preparing the cauliflower!

I first prepare the cauliflower by separating into florets.
cauliflower

Like so:
separating florets (You can bypass this step by using frozen florets; I’ve done it by letting them partially thaw. One 10 oz. bag frozen yields 1 cup cooked, riced cauliflower)

Then grate the cauliflower. I did this with a cheese grater, but it would probably be quicker and easier with a food processor, using the grater attachment. I have to admit, grating on a cheese grater is kind of tricky. You can also fine chop with a knife and cutting board.
Shredded cauliflower

Melt 2 tablespoons of butter or ghee in a large frying pan. Add cauliflower and cook over medium heat for about 10 minutes, stirring often. Cauliflower is done when it is no longer crunchy and a small amount can be mashed with a fork. (The old “mash a spoonful with a fork” test)
cauliflower cooking in butter

Let cool slightly and you are ready to begin.
UPDATE: To simplify this recipe, I’ve started preparing the cauliflower differently. I steam it (fresh or frozen) until soft, then drain the water out of the pan. I put the cauliflower back in the pan (minus the steamer insert) and add about a tablespoon of butter (or coconut oil), just enough to keep it from sticking to the still-hot pan. Then I mash it with a fork, not so much it looks like mashed potatoes, but just enough that it still retains enough form to look like rice. (You can experiment here) Proceed with recipe.

Preheat oven to 450o. Prepare pan by greasing well, lining with parchment, or do what I did; use a silpat type mat. Mix all ingredients (except sauce and toppings) in a bowl. (If cauliflower is still hot, mix cheese, eggs, and spices well, then add cauliflower) Place mixture in the center of the pan and spread outward, forming a thin circle.

Bake for 12-15 minutes, watching near the end. You want the top to be somewhat browned and the edge all browned. (Leave oven on for final step)
cooked pizza crust

Add sauce and spread evenly over crust. When I don’t have a sauce on hand, I’ll use tomato sauce and season it with more basil, oregano, and garlic salt.
pizza and sauce

Add your favorite toppings.
pizza with toppings
Here I’ve used cooked ground beef (grass-fed), sliced black olives, sliced bell peppers (green, red, and yellow), and sliced onion.
Top with cheese. As you can see, we like a lot.
pizza with cheese

Turn oven to broil, place pizza underneath broiler, and broil just until cheese is melted (approx. 3 minutes).
Edited to add: I prefer to return it to a 450o oven for about 3 minutes to keep the edges from getting too dark.
baked pizza

Slice and serve. This pizza will hold up on its own to eat without utensils. Updated note: The larger the pizza, the less likely it is to remain sturdy enough to pick up and eat. I’ve found making 2 smaller pizzas works best.

Hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

This post is part of the following blog carnivals:
Fight Back Fridays hosted by Food Renegade
Monday Mania hosted by the Healthy Home Economist

Be sure to visit them for more great meal ideas!

Follow me on Facebook by clicking on the link in the above right-hand corner.

One Response to Best GF Pizza

  1. I do not know if it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else experiencing issues with your site. It appears as if some of the text within your posts are running off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them as well? This might be a issue with my browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Many thanks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

