Low Carb Broccoli, “Rice,” and Cheese

How can rice be low carb? When it’s faux rice. Faux rice is riced cauliflower, like I used in my Best GF Pizza post. In fact, it was the taste of the crust mix prior to cooking that was reminiscent of broccoli, rice, and cheese casserole. So I decided to put it together with broccoli and see how it turned out. I loved the taste. I love the color the turmeric gave it, especially since turmeric is so good for us. It and the eggs gave it that nice shade of yellow (I’ll call it Rice-A-Roni yellow), even though the cheese I used was white. I love that it both tasted and looked like broccoli, rice, and cheese!

Low Carb Broccoli, “Rice,” and Cheese

Ingredients:

2 10oz bags of frozen cauliflower (or 1 head fresh)
1 10oz bag of frozen broccoli florets (or 1/2 fresh)
2 Tbs butter
3 cups grated cheese
2 eggs
2 tsp dried basil
1 1/2 tsp garlic salt
1/2 tsp turmeric (optional)
1/2 tsp coriander (optional)

Remove cauliflower and broccoli from freezer, if frozen. Shred or finely chop cauliflower. (This is the most time consuming part of this dish) Melt butter in a large frying pan. Add cauliflower and cook over medium heat until soft, but still retaining its shape, about 10 minutes. When done, remove from heat.
cauliflower cooking in ghee

In a large bowl mix grated cheese, eggs, and spices.
cheese, eggs, and spices

I used Dubliner cheese from Kerrygold (bought it at Costco).
Dubliner cheese

I love experimenting with spices!
Spice mix

Add cauliflower and mix well. Return to pan and return to heat, reduced to low. Rough chop broccoli then add to pan and mix well. Heat through until broccoli is warm and cheese is melted.

So good and good for you!

This post was submitted to the following blog carnivals:

Fight Back Fridays @ Food Renegade. Be a real food renegade!
Traditional Tuesdays at Cooking Traditional Foods. Check it out for nourishing food ideas!
Real Food Wednesdays over at Kelly the Kitchen Kop. Lots of great recipes and information there too!

You can follow me on Facebook by clicking on the link in the above right hand corner.

2 Responses to Low Carb Broccoli, “Rice,” and Cheese

  1. KerryAnn says:

    Looks wonderful! Thanks for stopping by the carnival and sharing the recipe with us.

  2. I love food that surprises, so this is inspiring to me. Cauliflower is one of my favourites, but the rest of my family aren’t so fond of it. I think I’ll use this idea as a compromise…..maybe I’ll just tell them it’s frice.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

