Easy Applesauce

Applesauce

As I mentioned in an earlier post, we were given apples from 3 different people since moving to Fargo. They were all quite tart and I wasn’t sure what to do with them. Since we try to limit our sweets, the best plan seemed to be making applesauce with them. I figured I could at least put the applesauce in the freezer until I found a use for it. However, I’d never made applesauce before and had to do an online search for a recipe. The problem was, ALL of the recipes I found called for the use of apple juice. One thing we never do is drink bottled juice and I got rid of my juicer shortly before we moved to Fargo. I decided to give it a try without the juice and I’m so glad I did. It turned out great and I was so pleased that it was naturally sweet.

This “recipe” is so easy, I hesitated to share it, but decided to do so for those looking for a simple recipe made with apples and water and/or those looking for applesauce in a hurry. For this applesauce, I used 12 apples (though only 11 are in the picture). Wash them well and let them dry. (These are organic, which I recommend)

washed apples

If you have an apple corer, this helps things go faster. I put a pan on the stove and added 1/2 cup water, then turned it on very low heat. I added each apple as I cored it, peeled it, and cut it up.

cored apple

Each time I added an apple to the pan, I’d give it a quick stir to keep the apples on top from turning brown. I doubt this step is necessary, but I didn’t want to take a picture of a pan full of brown apples! Once the apples were all in the pan, I added an additional half cup of water. I decided to add a cinnamon stick to this batch, because I plan to use the applesauce as bulk in a recipe that already calls for cinnamon.

apples cooking

I put the lid on and then let it simmer for about 45-50 minutes, stirring occasionally. I know a lot of people make it in their crockpot and leave the apple skin on, because when it is cooked the skin pretty much dissolves. This would be a good alternative if you have plenty of time and, yes, it would be less wasteful and probably more nutritious. But this recipe is about simplicity and saving time.
:)

Once it is finished, I just mash it up with the big spoon I used to stir it. If you like it smoother, a stick blender would work really well. Here’s the end result:

applesauce cooked

It made a little less than 3 cups of applesauce. I’m hoping to try some recipes out using stevia as the only sweetener. Thanks to a tip from my almost-daughter-in-law, Emily, you can replace the bulk of added sweeteners with applesauce. I’ll be posting the successes!

Want more easy tips? Follow me on Facebook by clicking on the link in the upper right-hand corner.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

