Christmas Scone Cookies

Scookie!

I was about to go on a long-winded explanation of how we are going to eliminate grain from our diets (AGAIN!!!) and how I bought this 20 lb bag of white spelt flour from the food co op a couple of weeks ago and how I was wondering what to do with it…

but I think I’ll just fast forward to the good part.

So I’ve been craving scones. Maybe it’s the display at the Starbucks drive up. Yes, I’m sure that must be it. They have all these wonderful looking treats, so Christmas-y and yummy looking. Arg! Bad food! Bad ingredients! I should give up coffee. I’ve been craving scones ever since I made them almost a year ago. I’ve tried really hard to limit sweets this year and for the most part I think I’ve done pretty well. But those scones were calling my name and here I had this flour and besides, Barbara gave me permission. (Hey, E, please don’t tell your mom I said that!) So I made scones today. And they were so yummy. I cut them a little smaller than last time. In fact, I separated the dough into two balls, then rolled them out and cut them like a pizza, like last time. It was while I was eating one on a Christmas napkin I brought home last night (thanks, Julie!) that I saw a resemblance.

Christmas scone

See what I mean?! That’s definitely a Christmas scone! So then my brain kicked into holiday overdrive. Christmas scone…cookie…potluck Sunday, dessert needed. It was providence! When my husband came home and tasted one of these scone-cookie things he instantly dubbed it “scookie.” Thus, scookies were born! (You know how we love to name our food)

As always, keep in mind this is how I made them. You can make your own substitutions and/or additions. I like using cacao nibs and happened to have the macadamia nuts (soaked and dehydrated) on hand, but you can use anything you like: chocolate chips, raisins, nuts, etc. I had to make an adjustment from the last time I made them, because previously I used sour raw milk. Due to a severe shortage of milk here (and because I save it for more important things, like COFFEE) I did what I always do; made it up as I went along.

This is my end of the year grain blowout. Feel free to remind me of that if you see me straying.


Christmas Scone-Cookies (Scookies)

makes approximately 48 medium cookies

6 cups white spelt flour
2 cups turbinado sugar
4 1/2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp sea salt
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
3 medium or 2 extra large eggs
1/2 cup coconut oil
1/2 cup butter or ghee
1/2 cup cream cheese
3/4 – 1 cup whey1
5 Tbs cacao nibs
1/4 cup chopped macadamia nuts

Cookie ingredients

Preheat oven to 450o.

In a large bowl or mixer add flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Mix just until combined.

mixing dry ingredients

Add eggs, butter, cream cheese, and coconut oil and mix just until combined. (Wet ingredients should be soft enough to mix easily with dry ingredients)

Add wet ingredients

Add 3/4 cup of whey and mix till dough forms. If needed, add up to another 1/4 cup of whey a little at a time. (It will probably take the higher amount if using all purpose flour; spelt has a tendency to seem dry at first, but them becomes more moist quickly)

Whey
I love whey. I’m concerned about running out of it. I’ll be glad when they change the silly laws.

Lay dough on work station (I just use the counter without any flour) and form into a ball, then press out. Add cacao nibs and nuts (or whatever additions you are using) and mix them into the dough.

add cacao nibs and nuts

Separate dough into two balls and set one aside. Roll first ball out to desired thickness. I rolled mine to about the thickness of a sugar cookie you would use a cookie cutter with. At this point you can cut them like a pizza, use a glass or biscuit cutter and cut round shapes, or use cookie cutters. I used cookie cutters and a little spatula my insurance agent gave me.

cutting cookies

I interrupt this cookie making session to let you know, if you happen to buy your insurance through State Farm, that you should make sure you pick up one of these handy jar openers:

jar opener

Seriously, I love this thing! I had one for years and years and when I was packing for North Dakota I made myself throw it away. It was completely falling apart, but I hadn’t been able to bring myself to throw it out. After my agent here in ND graced me with this little spatula (because I had to fill out a form and include what my personal interests were…seriously!), I told him about my beloved jar opener. And what to my wondering ears did I hear, but he thought he might have one somewhere in the back!! He came out with not one, but TWO of these beauties. Yes, I know, they don’t look like much, but trust me…they can open ANY jar!

Okay, where were we? Oh, yeah…cookies…

Place cookies on a baking sheet with parchment paper, silicone sheet, or that has been greased with butter or coconut oil.

ready to bake cookies

Bake at 450o for 8 minutes or until just beginning to brown around bottom edges. Remove from oven and cool.

cookies baked

Use frosting of your choice to frost and/or decorate or eat them as is!

I used a simple frosting by mixing approximately 2 parts softened cream cheese to 1 part raw honey and added a little homemade vanilla. Adjust sweetener to your own liking or add liquid stevia to cream cheese/honey mixture, a couple of drops at a time, to desired sweetness.

I’m still working on the decorating part, but for the sake of the blog I used some organic raisins. I’m hoping to find a way to incorporate some fresh cranberries I have, either by candying them or making a thick version of my cranberry sauce and using that somehow. I’m always open for decorating suggestions using real food.

Christmas cookies
Christmas tree, snowman, stocking, and holly leaf.

I was concerned about the icing causing the cookies to stick when stacking on a serving tray, so I came up with another idea. I cut them out in circles, then made little sandwich cookies with icing in the middle.

scookie sandwiches
Scookie Sandwiches
:)

1 If you have some raw milk, sour raw milk, or buttermilk, you can substitute all of the cream cheese and whey with it for a total of 1 1/2 cups of milk.

This post is part of the following blog carnivals:
Healthy 2day Wednesdays (day2day joys)
Fight Back Fridays
(Food Renegade)
Fresh Bites Friday (Real Food Whole Health)

You can follow me on Facebook by clicking on the link in the above right hand corner.

4 Responses to Christmas Scone Cookies

  1. This looks like a great recipe I know my kids would love and the best part is that they are super healthy!

    I’d love for you to share this and other posts every week at Healthy 2day Wednesdays until Saturday!

  2. Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a comment! They were pretty good. I was thankful they were all eaten! I got some positive feedback on them at the potluck. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

