Where to go from here

I thought by starting my blog I would be compelled to post on it often. Now I sit here with something akin to writer’s block. It’s hard to know where to even start. There are so many things I want to share, so many things I’ve learned, so many things wrong with the SAD (Standard American Diet), and so many wonderful things out there to replace it! One of the things that’s had a high priority for me is candida. Or, an anti-candida diet, to be more specific. You see, candida is something I keep coming back to again and again in my search for better health. At first, I thought the problem was with molds and fungi outside of the body. (In our environment and also in the foods we consume) A good website to learn more about this is Know the Cause. Lots of straightforward info there. As I began to understand the problem with mold and fungi (and especially mycotoxins) in our food, I began to avoid things like corn and corn products, soy and soy products, and wheat (as in, whole wheat). These are foods that are very prone to mycotoxins and a certain amount are allowed in our food products. Since then, I’ve learned that soy, often touted as a “health food” wreaks havoc on the thyroid. This website provides some good information about soy.

What are mycotoxins? Myco = fungus; toxins = poison. Mycotoxins are toxins produced by fungi. At the same time I learned about the levels of mycotoxins allowed in corn and wheat for human consumption, I also leaned the levels allowed for animal consumption was much higher. This is the food fed to animals in CAFOs (Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations). This is the meat you buy at the grocery store. Their diet is partly why they are continually fed antibiotics. It was at this point I learned about grass-fed meat. Grass-fed meat is just what it sounds like; animals that graze on grass! This is what God designed them to eat and to lock them up and feed them corn and grain (and waste products!) is to invite sickness and disease. (God’s plan is always perfect!) Though I normally advocate buying locally, for reasons I will get into later we order our grass-fed meat, cheese and butter from Slanker’s. Ted Slanker has a lot of good information on his website regarding why you should be eating grass-fed meat. Aside from the antibiotics and hormones, grain fed animals produce a meat that has a skewed ratio of Omega 6 to Omega 3. Grass-fed meat supplies the same Omega 6:3 ratio as Alaskan salmon. Nearly perfect! (The Omega imbalance is another subject I plan to address, since it contributes to many of the illnesses we see today)

To get back to candida, I keep finding information (on which I plan to elaborate, citing references) that seems to say the same thing. And though nothing is ever this simple, this is my simplified version of what I see happening:

Diet high in refined carbohydrates (sugar and white flour top the list) and overuse of antibiotics

which leads to…

Overgrowth of yeast/candida, causing things like candidiasis

which leads to…

Leaky gut syndrome

which leads to…

Poor immune function/autoimmunity

which leads to…

(fill in the blank with any modern day illness or disease)

From dandruff and toenail fungal infections to diabetes, heart disease, and even cancer. Even more astonishing, many mental illnesses are attributed to the same source. Everything from ADD to Autism to Alzheimer’s. Of course, the problems with mold/fungi and Omega 3 deficiency, along with rampant antibiotic use in animals (yes, the antibiotics are in the meat you eat), all contribute to the problems, as well.

Something that I found very interesting is all the people who are having problems with wheat. Why is that? Have people always had problems with wheat? Is it because wheat is more readily available now or is there something wrong with the wheat (i.e., the mycotoxins)? I think it goes back to the beginning of my simplified outline. Leaky gut syndrome (LGS) is where the food allergies start. Does the wheat contribute to the candidiasis overgrowth leading to LGS? That question is too complex to answer in this post! But the solution is obvious. Eliminate wheat from the diet. This is what many people are finding they must do. But is it treating the cause or just a symptom? If gluten sensitivity/intolerance is a food allergy caused by LGS, then a gluten free diet is only treating a symptom. The LGS will not be healed until the yeast/candida/fungal overgrowth is dealt with. Unfortunately, candida infections are not something people usually want to discuss. But if you typically eat the SAD and you have used antibiotics, chances are you have an overgrowth. Especially if you don’t supplement with a high quality probiotic or eat foods with probiotics, like yogurt. A live-culture sugar-free yogurt, that is! (Sugar feeds yeast)

That was probably a lot of boring information, but it is important for good health. Hopefully, I’ll be able to post some recipes with pictures soon. For now, eat well!

5 Responses to Where to go from here

  1. Pierre says:

    WOW!!!!!! That was very edifying Karen!

  2. Stephanie Thomas says:

    Thanks so much Aunt Karen! Can’t wait to share this with my Hubby.

    • Thanks! Just remember, these are only my opinions, formed from hours upon hours of research in hopes of regaining good health, along with my personal experience! (I hope my conclusions are at least partly correct!)

  3. Doc says:

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

