Princess Doll Cake

Princess doll cake

My granddaughter, who loves all things princess, wanted a princess doll cake for her birthday. One night before bedtime, she and I looked online at some youtube videos that teach how to make a princess cake. It looked fairly easy and I am happy to say it was fairly easy. If I can do it, anyone can! The video I ended up using came from this youtube by Betty Crocker.

Of course, I didn’t use a Betty Crocker mix or any mix. I went to Lauren’s site, Healthy Indulgences and used her recipe for yellow cake (or cupcakes, to be specific). Yes, I made my granddaughter’s birthday cake out of Great Northern beans and no flour. I made 3 round cakes and 1 dome cake, baked in an oven-proof bowl. This required multiplying the recipe by 4. The batter was evenly divided between the 3 pans and 1 bowl.
Side view

While the cake turned out fine, I had a little difficulty with the frosting. I actually made 2 different frostings; buttercream and cream cheese. I used the buttercream on the outside of the cake and the cream cheese between the layers. I opted for the cream cheese frosting for 2 reasons. I wanted to try some of the cream cheese I’d made and I wanted to cut the sweetness of the cake a little, because it was pretty sweet. I chose the buttercream frosting for 2 reasons. I thought it would provide a better frosting to work with and I ran out of cream cheese!
Different view

The directions from the video require the removal of the center of each cake with a knife or a biscuit cutter (although, I think she said “pastry cutter”). I used my smallest biscuit cutter, which is pretty small, but it still caused a little too much room around the doll’s waist. Since I wasn’t planning on frosting the top of the doll, as is done in the video, I tried just filling in around her waist with frosting. That wasn’t working (she was too wobbly), so I took a piece of wire-edged ribbon, folded it in half longways and tied it around her waist. That seemed to stabilize her pretty well.
ribbon around waist

I think the overall effect was pretty cute. I got the Barbie at Target for under $10. It’s a bath time (Sleeping Beauty) Barbie and comes with the little rabbit you see on the plate. I took the doll’s skirt off (even though it’s rubber), so she would fit inside the cake. (The doll is wrapped in Saran Wrap, as per the video) I also opted to put her hair up and just used a couple of the birthday girl’s pony tail holders for that. The tiara that comes with the doll was a nice touch.

This cake was a lot of fun, but it was a little time consuming and I was short on time. If I ever make another one, I’ll have to work on the frosting. It came out a little runny, so I wasn’t able to actually swirl it around like I’d hoped. The birthday girl was happy though.
birthday girl

In case you’re wondering about candles, so was I when it came time to serve the cake! In my rush, I’d completely forgotten all about candles! It’s not like there are a lot of options for putting candles on this cake anyway (wouldn’t want to torch Barbie), but I did manage to find a candle in my “supply” drawer. In this picture it’s the modified #5, but I like to refer to it as “the candle formerly known as 3.” πŸ˜€

This is what was left of the cake by the time I got a picture of the inside. Should have gotten a nice pic with a piece on a plate. At this point, the cake had toppled and had to be put back together to get the picture. I’m adding it, because if I were reading this blog I’d want to know what it looks like!
cut up cake

If you have any questions about this cake, the building of it or the ingredients, please use the comment section and I’ll be happy to reply. This blog is part of Fight Back Fridays.

4 Responses to Princess Doll Cake

  1. Stephanie Thomas says:

    How adorable!!! I definitely want to try this for my girls’ birthdays! They would be SO thrilled.:)

    • I think you’ll be surprised at how easy it is! I know I was. I updated the post to show a picture of the inside of the cake after it was cut (many times!). I don’t know if that was a good idea, as it doesn’t look so great at that point. πŸ™‚ The one suggestion I would make is that you don’t wait until the day of the party to make it, like I did!

  2. AM says:

    We were very impressed with your creativity! Cake decorating always involves a lot of improvising. That was one happy little girl!

Leave a Reply

