RIP Yogurt Maker

yogurt thermos

I was very sad to discover, after blogging about how to make raw milk yogurt, that my yogurt maker (aka my Eddie Bauer gallon thermos) bit the dust. How does a thermos bite the dust, you may be wondering (or not). Well, this fancy thermos has a spigot. A spigot that was a bit of a pain, as I had to cap it off every time I made yogurt. The cap came with the thermos, but it was hard to clean. And, as I also blogged, cleanliness is of extreme importance when making yogurt. And most other times.
spigot

So, the seal on the spigot sprung a leak. Or two. I’m not really sure. I just know that when I poured the entire gallon of freshly made yogurt into it, a lovely pool of yogurt suddenly appeared around the bottom of the thermos. (You have to understand, this was not cultured yogurt, therefore, it was still in it’s totally liquid-y milk form)

I creatively then poured it back into the pan, grabbed two insulated shopping bags and my heavy, yogurt-making towel, and did my best to insulate the pan to retain the proper heat for culturing yogurt. Though I do not recommend this method and don’t plan to use it again, it worked. Mostly. I’m hoping maybe some handy person might be able to fix the seal on the thermos and resurrect my yogurt maker. In the meantime, I’ll be looking around for either another gallon thermos (preferably without a spigot!) or some other method of making yogurt. Maybe I’ll try the heating-pad-in-a-cooler method. If I could just figure out what to do with the cord…

On a happier note, as I needed to strain the somewhat runny yogurt at the same time I needed to use my large, yogurt-straining pan for cooking supper, I found a new way to strain my yogurt. I introduce to you the new strainer:

Yogurt strainer

It works. I’m happy.

whey

I love multifunctional appliances.

4 Responses to RIP Yogurt Maker

  1. Stephanie Thomas says:

    I’m sorry about your yogurt maker Aunt Karen.:( I have made raw milk yogurt in the crock pot before and it is VERY simple. You do everything in the crock pot except strain it. Your new “yogurt strainer” is very impressive! I really enjoy your posts!:)

    • Thanks for the tip! I was thinking of that and was trying to find out the actual temps on my crock pot. I have one that has high, low, and warm settings. I was hoping the warm would be low enough, but can’t really find an exact temp. I only heat my milk to 110, so as not to destroy the vitamins, etc, so was hoping not to exceed that temp while culturing. If you’ve had success with the crock pot, then it sounds like an easy way to go!

      • Doc says:

        Might this help? Put water in your crock pot. Then let it sit at low for an hour or so. Then use a food thermometer. You could repeat the process for each of the other settings. If there was some question, you could do this several times and average the temperatures you record. Just a thought.

      • Great suggestion! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

