Fast Food

What do you do when the day doesn’t go as you planned and suddenly it’s supper time? For some, the answer is easy. Drive to a local fast food place or a nearby restaurant. Even better (for some), order in and save the trip! Or take something out of the freezer and pop it into the microwave. For those who are committed to eating non-processed foods, the answer isn’t always so easy. If you have the forsight to plan ahead for those times and have a casserole or something that can be heated in the oven, it’s not quite as hard. For me, it never seems to work out that way. Planning ahead is not my forte. Unorganized is a word that better describes me. I tend to “fly by the seat of my pants.” Usually supper ends up being something that can be made with quickly-thawed hamburger meat, like taco salad. (I thaw my meat by steaming it in a pan on low heat) This is why I always make sure I order more hamburger meat (or ground bison, when they have it) than anything. Here are some of the things I make when supper finds me ill-prepared.

Pizza: sourdough or sprouted spelt flour crust (check out this website for sprouted flour), tomato paste with a little water or tomato sauce cooked down a little with some dried oregano and garlic powder, bell pepper, black olives, onion, chicken sausage or wild boar sausage, raw grass-fed cheese. This is a deep dish style pizza.
deep dish pizza

Green chile and cheese burgers (topped with ranch and dijon) with sweet potato fries, if I think to take the hamburger out early enough. Love it with the new homemade ketchup!
Burger and fries

Probably the easiest thing to make in a hurry though, is this Wendy’s-like chili recipe I found on Lauren’s site, Healthy Indulgences. It’s easy and relatively fast. She recommends simmering for 2-3 hours, but I find it good as soon as it’s done. Here’s the recipe, with my tweaks.

Ingredients

2 lbs grass-fed hamburger or bison
1 Tbs coconut or olive oil (if using grass-fed meat)
1 small onion, diced
1 cup chopped bell peppers, any or all colors
1/2 cup diced celery (if I have it)
5-6 Tbs red chili powder
4 tsp ground cumin
2 tsp garlic powder (or fresh garlic, to taste)
1 1/2 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp cayenne (optional)
2 28 oz. cans diced tomatoes (or 4 14.5 oz cans)
2 8 oz. cans tomato sauce
1-2 cups beans (I use pinto)

Chop vegetables while meat is browning, then add to meat. Cook for a few minutes until softened.
meat and veggies

Stir in spices, cook a couple of minutes while mixing well.
add spices

Add tomatoes and tomato sauce. (I like Muir Glen)
tomatoes

Mix well, then stir in beans. Top with favorite toppings. I like yogurt or sour cream (whichever I have) and a little grated raw grass-fed cheese.
chili

This does make about 12 good sized servings. I always cook extra everything in order to cover lunches the next day or to freeze for those times when I’m ill-prepared. 😉

Leave a Reply

