More Fast Food

This week has been an interesting week in my kitchen. It was a mix of old and new. I unveiled my attempt at making a Kombucha SCOBY. I still haven’t quite decided whether it’s a SCOBY or something I should pour down the garbage disposal, but I did separate it from the bulk of the tea and put it in a separate jar with some of the tea until I decide. I found a store that was still selling GT Kombucha, as well as Synergy. I bought them out. 😀 I noticed on the top of some of the bottles, the stuff floating looks a lot like my attempt at a SCOBY. This is the main reason I decided to hold off on throwing it out. My husband and I braved another taste. We both agreed, it tasted very much like the store bought version, except for the ginger taste added to the latter. I plan to try again, using Kristen’s version of growing a SCOBY, with one of the bottles from the store (with the stuff floating on top). Stay tuned!

With VBS wrapping up near the end of last week, and because I have my grandchildren all day during the summer, I relied a lot on “fast food” dinners. These are the things I either make when I don’t take meat out early enough or things that don’t take long to cook (though they require having the meat thawed). My grandson, who is a very picky eater, loved the cubed steak.

cubed steak, sweet corn, tomatoes and cukes

I put the (grass-fed) steak in a bowl and pour a little Bragg’s Enzymes on it and let it sit a few minutes.

grass-fed steak in Bragg's

On a separate plate I put a little sprouted spelt flour with some all purpose seasoning (Mountain Rose Herbs), some garlic powder, and a little sea salt and pepper.

steak and flour

Cover both sides of the steak with the flour mixture and fry in either ghee or some coconut oil till just cooked and browned on both sides. I served it with some sweet corn I bought at our “milk and egg” farm. I don’t know if it’s contaminated by the GM crops, but that corn is the best I’ve ever eaten. (I’m hoping there was no cross pollination, since the sweet corn is harvested earlier) Though I love grass-fed butter, that corn was so good it didn’t need anything on it! To cook the corn, I simply put it in a pan with one of those steamer inserts you can buy anywhere and steamed it for 15 minutes. Yummy!

corn steaming

Helpful this week was the addition of the first vegetables from the garden. One of these days I’m going to write a post about this garden. It’s a special garden, with minimal work, as I’ll write about. First to make it into the house: cabbage, cucumbers (2 types), bell peppers, tomatoes. The onion came from the same place as the corn.

garden vegetables

Another easy dish I made was my “Thicker Than Fog” split pea soup. I fixed a small ham on Thursday (last night of VBS!), then fixed the soup on Friday, because the grandkids left early. (They wouldn’t touch it!) It’s such an easy dish to make. I dice up a couple of carrots, an onion, some garlic and throw it all into a pan with some ghee or coconut oil, stirring often, for a few minutes. Then I add 4 cups of chicken stock, and 4 cups of water, throw in the leftover ham on the bone and a bunch of split peas, bring to a boil, then simmer for an hour to an hour and a half. (I’ll have to work on those measurements for a real recipe) This soup is SO good! It’s usually good for 2 or 3 meals. Though, according to the “Pease Porridge Hot” song, it’s even good “in the pot, 9 days old!”

split pea soup

Another simple dish is salmon patties. I used canned Alaskan sockeye salmon and it’s very good. (Recipe soon)

salmon patties

Yesterday I wrote about my sweet friend, Rachel. It was her birthday and I wanted to share a great meatloaf recipe I got from her. I also wanted to mention her Etsy shop where she sells vintage items. And, of course, I wanted to brag about what a wonderful friend I have been blessed with! The recipe for her meatloaf is in the post. It’s super easy and delicious. This isn’t a very good picture (sorry, Rachel!), but it definitely qualifies for “fast food.”

meatloaf

That’s some of the stuff that’s been twisting in my kitchen. Thanks for reading about my week!

This post is part of the Tuesday Twister at Gnowfglins.com.

2 Responses to More Fast Food

  1. Stephanie Thomas says:

    YUM, YUM, YUM!!!! Every time I read one of your wonderful posts I feel HUNGRY!!:)

Leave a Reply

