Salmon Stir-fry

This week was as hectic as usual, so I found myself relying on quick-fix meals again. The down side to that is, sometimes I feel as though we eat the same things over and over. Thankfully, our co-op order came in, so I had some canned sockeye salmon on hand for a couple of meals. I usually make salmon-salad-salad (salmon salad on salad) with homemade mayo or salmon patties. I did find this week, when I made Rachel’s Meatloaf, that I could sub sourdough crumbs for the oatmeal with the same results. No one knew the difference. Those end-of-the-loaf pieces came in handy there!

My grandchildren, 9 yrs and 5 yrs, have been real troopers with our meals. They are used to eating chicken nuggets and pizza rolls, so staying with Grandma for the summer is something of a challenge. My granddaughter, the 5 yr old, is so sweet. She says things like, “Well, I don’t like it…but I love it!” She’s hilarious. That’s her way of trying to tell me she can’t stomach what I’m serving, but doesn’t want to hurt my feelings. 🙂
I try to throw in some faux junk food, to relieve their suffering. We made some chocolate chip cookies today. (I was desperate; it’s hard to blog with a little voice declaring every few minutes, “Grandma, I’m bored.” ;)) I used this recipe, using spelt flour, fresh egg, raw honey, crispy pecans (a la Sally Fallon), and cacao nibs instead of chocolate chips.
cacao nibs

Looked and tasted like chocolate chip cookie dough.
cookie dough

Or so the taste-testers said. (At least the raw honey was still intact at that point)
taste tester

The cookies were popular too, but I was glad it only made 1 1/2 dozen. (The rest were still cooking!)
cacao nib cookies

Once that fun was over, I took the little one out to the garden with me. It looks a little jungle-like.
garden

It was really hot (and bright) out there, but she was a good helper.
garden helper

We pulled up a head of cabbage for supper and found the rabbits are getting back into the garden.
cabbage

I used some wild salmon and made a stir-fry.
salmon

Here’s how I made it:

2 Tbs ghee
1 carrot, diced
1 onion, diced (local)
1 tsp fresh ginger, diced small
2 small bell peppers, sliced (garden)
2 yellow squash, halved, then sliced
1 elephant ear garlic clove, diced
1 small head cabbage, sliced into strips (garden)
1/2 cup frozen broccoli
2 pieces of salmon, sliced
2 Tbs coconut aminos
1 tsp Chinese 5 spice (love Mountain Rose Herbs)

Melt ghee in wok, then saute carrot and onion for about 3 minutes, then add ginger, peppers, squash and garlic. Saute about 3 minutes more, then add frozen broccoli and cabbage and cook, stirring often, about 5 minutes. Add salmon, coconut aminos and Chinese 5 spice. Cook a few more minutes, until salmon is cooked. If you’re really ambitious, take the sauce in the bottom of the pan and mix it with a little arrowroot (1/2 – 1 tsp) to thicken it, then add back to the stir-fry. Serve on quinoa, brown rice, or eat as is!

salmon stir-fry

This post is part of Tuesday Twister on Gnowfglins.com.

Leave a Reply

