GF Pizza

gf pizza

Continuing on our gluten/grain-free journey, I revisited a recipe from my low carb past. I was making spelt flour pizza for the grandkids and thinking of what I could make for us with some leftover ground beef, when I decided to see if I could remember how to make this grain-free pizza. It was pretty tasty. Don’t know what I’d do without my milk, cream, and cheese, for sure! Next time I might tweak it a little. I think one of the key things is to let the “crust’ cool completely before assembling the pizza. It seemed a little quiche-like, which I didn’t remember. Maybe I’ll figure it out by the time I attempt it again!

GF Pizza

Ingredients for crust:

1/2 cup cream cheese (I used homemade from raw milk)
Three medium eggs (pastured, of course)
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/3 cup heavy raw cream
1/2 teaspoon oregano
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
2 cups grated cheese of choice (I used Kerrygold sharp cheddar)
Olive oil to oil the pan(s)
1/2 cup pizza sauce (I used Muir Glen + a little homemade ketchup)
Grated cheese and assorted toppings

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375o. Oil a 13 x 9-inch baking dish or (2) 9-inch pie plates. Beat cream cheese and eggs until smooth (although using my homemade cream cheese it never gets truly smooth). Add heavy cream, Parmesan and spices; combine well. Add remaining grated cheese until just mixed. Pour (scrape?) into baking dish or evenly into the 2 pie plates.

Bake at 375o for about 30 minutes or to desired brownness. Let cool completely.

I let the other one get a little darker, which turned out better, but didn’t get a picture.

Prior to assembling pizza, I loosened the crust all the way around the edges, which may or may not have helped, but the slices came out easily.
To assemble pizza spread with pizza sauce, then add grated cheese and toppings of choice. I used the leftover ground beef (grass-fed, always!) and the last of the bell peppers from the garden. I went a little heavy on the ground beef on the second one and would have liked more toppings (onion, black olives, etc), but we were running late, so I made do.
ready to bake
Return to oven until cheese is melted and toppings are warm. Enjoy!
Tasty!

This post is part of Hearth ‘n Soul Blog Hop and Tuesday Twister.

5 Responses to GF Pizza

  1. Stephanie Thomas says:

    Wow that looks GOOD!!

  2. Welcome to the Hearth and Soul hop and thank you for linking up this week. I’m a celiac, so I’m always happy to see gf recipes being shared.

  3. Christy says:

    I am always on the lookout for pizza recipes – I love your crust – so full of healthy goodness my stomach is growling! Thanks for sharing this with us at the Hearth and Soul Hop!

  4. girlichef says:

    What a different crust! I’m really enjoying learning more about gf options…the pizza looks really good 😀 Thank you for sharing this with the hearth and soul hop this week 🙂

Leave a Reply

