GF (Nut Flour) Bread

Grain-free slice

I’m going to a money-management seminar tomorrow and was trying to figure out what to take for lunch, when I remembered this grain-free bread I used to make quite a bit before spelt came into my life. I used to make it with almond flour, but since I only had 1 cup of almond flour, I had to sub with hazelnut flour. (I used 1 cup of each) Hazelnut is cheaper right now than almond flour; my money management skills must be on the right track!
Of course, if I really wanted to use the best ingredients, I would have ground up my crispy pecans and used them, but couldn’t muster up the extra energy today. Curious about “crispy nuts?” This is a good blog post about them, as well as this one. When I dug up the recipe, I was happy to see how many eggs it took. Our egg and dairy farm has an abundance of eggs and I keep buying a bunch, so I can give them to my grown kids to take home. (They’re so cheap and nutritious) However, if I’m not watching, my spare fridge ends up with an over-abundance of eggs. This recipe will take care of that in a hurry!

Nut Flour Bread

2 cups nut flour (almond, hazelnut, pecan, or a mix)
1/2 cup coconut flour
1/2 cup grated sharp cheddar cheese
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon all purpose seasoning
1 teaspoon gelatin (flavorless kind, optional)
1/4 tsp sea salt
10 eggs
1 1/2 sticks of butter (1 1/2 cups)
Extra butter for pan

Preheat oven to 350o. Grease a loaf pan with butter and set aside. Measure butter, cut into slices and melt, either in the preheating oven or on top.
butter melting
In one bowl, add nut flour(s), coconut flour, baking powder, salt, seasoning, gelatin if using, and mix well.
Ingredients
I love Mountain Rose Herbs All Purpose Seasoning!
All Purpose Seasoning
In a separate bowl, whisk eggs until well mixed.
Pastured eggs
(Pastured, of course!)
Slowly add melted butter, whisking continuously. When well blended, add to flour mixture, whisking until all is blended.
Egg and flour mixtures
The batter will be very moist. Spoon into greased loaf pan.
Bread batter
Bake for 40-45 minutes or until very golden brown outside and toothpick (or knife) inserted in center comes out clean. (It won’t be clean and dry, because of the butter, but it will NOT be goopy in any way) Remove pan from oven and cool for 10 minutes.
Bread cooling
Remove loaf from pan and continue to cool on a wire rack.
bread cooling
Refrigerate overnight to reduce crumbling. (I put mine in a gallon size Baggie) Of course, you can cut a slice while it’s still warm and slather some grass-fed butter all over it. (See picture at top of post) Just in case it doesn’t already have enough. Butter, that is. 😉

Note: I used to use parmesan cheese in a plastic container. You know, the powdery kind? Not sure how good that is, but if you have a good source, that would work well. The Kerrygold sharp cheddar I used worked fine. Also, you can bake this in a 12-cup muffin pan, distributing evenly. Don’t remember how long I baked them, but I would guess start checking them at 20 minutes. These make nice little rolls for things like salmon or egg salads.

This post is part of Fight Back Fridays blog carnival.

Leave a Reply

