Pure Happiness and More (Eggnog)

Pure Happiness

We’ve been sick. Ever since we changed our eating habits almost 2 years ago, we just don’t get sick very often. And when we do, we’re only sick for a day or two. Maybe I was patting myself on the back a little too much for our greatly improved immune systems. I dunno. All I know is that I got sick and this thing has hung on for over 2 weeks. And worse, now my husband has it. I know it’s not just us. My son has had it for 4 weeks now and my stepson had it for 3 weeks. Whatever “it” is, it’s a hanger-on-er. And I’m ready for it to leave. One of the worst things about being sick (right behind feeling so crummy), inevitably we fall off our food plan wagon in one way or another. This “sick” hit right in the middle of our great grain(less) experiment. So, on a day when I was really not feeling well and had no supper plan whatsoever, I broke down and made beans and rice. At least the rice was brown, even if it wasn’t soaked. And at least the beans were organic, even if they came in a can. It still beat the drive thru by miles and miles. Ever since that day, I haven’t done so well with the whole grain-less thing. We had oatmeal for breakfast one morning (it WAS soaked) and for dinner one night I made tostadas. I had ordered these sprouted corn tortillas from the food coop (telling myself it was for company food – wink, wink).
sprouted corn tortillas
Forgetting I had some homemade tallow in the fridge, I fried the tortillas in coconut oil till they were crispy. Spread some refried beans on them, topped with some raw milk cheese (flavored with garlic and herbs), and some chopped lettuce and tomato. I have to admit, it was pretty yummy and a real hit with the grandkids.
tostadas
For the most part though, I’ve tried to stick with what we were doing. One thing I do when I need to eat something and don’t feel like cooking is to have some raw milk cheese and crispy cashews or pecans.
cashews and cheese
Another thing I finally tried after talking about it for a year or more is making homemade eggnog. Who knew it was THAT easy?! It makes for a great pick-me-up when I don’t feel like eating, much less cooking. I just take two egg yolks…
2 egg yolks
one cup of raw milk, one teaspoon of raw honey, hit it with the immersion blender for about 20 seconds, sprinkle with some nutmeg and enjoy!
yummy eggnog
I’ve tried adding homemade vanilla and a couple of other things, but I think I like the simple version best. However, the most awesome thing about this eggnog is that my grandchildren love it! I’m so thrilled to get some raw milk and fresh eggs into them! I had stooped to buying some chocolate milk syrup at the health food store in an attempt to get them to drink the milk. I mean, it was working, but how great is them drinking it without the syrup?!! In fact, my grandson instantly dubbed it “Pure Happiness.” He’s so awesome! 🙂

Wanna know what I think is pure happiness?

This:

Devin and Kaitlyn

This post is part of Fight Back Fridays blog carnival. You can also find me on Facebook. Just click on the link above, right hand side that says, “Follow Me on Facebook!”

One Response to Pure Happiness and More (Eggnog)

  1. Pierre Sr. says:

    WOOOOW!!! Interesting! I don’t even like eggnog but I will try that one!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

