Sourdough Buckwheat Pizza

Sourdough Buckwheat Pizza

I’ve been trying to limit our grain consumption for several reasons, but about once a week or so I’ll fix something with sourdough. That’s about the time my starter begins to outgrow the 4 cup measuring container I keep it in. I don’t know why I don’t just dry it and store it. I guess it’s just nice to have on hand. It came in handy on Thanksgiving, when I decided to use it to make sourdough dinner rolls. I honestly didn’t think the dinner rolls made with sourdough would compare with regular yeast rolls, but they were great! They had the same texture and the slightest, pleasant sourdough taste. I would definitely make them again and when I do, I’ll post the recipe and pics here.
Anyways, back to the pizza. Friday nights and pizza just seem to go together and I wanted to use some of the starter, as I said. I had 3 small bags of flour left over from Thanksgiving: Brown rice, buckwheat, and white pastry (all Arrowhead Mills brand that I picked up at The Nutrition Stop). Though my starter is a mix of all sorts of flours, I’d been feeding it with the brown rice flour, so I decided to go with the buckwheat. I wasn’t sure what it would do for a pizza crust, but it does make wonderful pancakes! I think it turned out pretty well and the menfolk proclaimed it was “Nom!” For those who are on a gluten-free diet, this recipe is doable if a gluten-free starter is used. (I made a successful gluten-free starter from brown rice flour)

Sourdough Buckwheat Pizza Crust
(makes 2)

3+ cups of buckwheat flour
4 tsp baking powder
2 tsp sea salt
1/2 cup ghee, coconut oil, olive oil1
1 cup raw milk (esp. sour), whey, or water
2 cups starter

Blend 3 cups of the buckwheat flour, baking powder, and salt together, then add ghee and mix well.
Buckwheat flour blend and ghee
Mix in milk, then add starter.
Adding sourdough starter
Thoroughly blend, adding additional flour as needed until dough is not too sticky to handle. Separate into two equal balls; set one ball aside. Roll other ball out between two sheets of parchment paper.
Rolling out between parchment
I roll it out, then measure it with the pan.
Measuring with pan
Carefully peel top layer of parchment, then lay pan upside down on top of dough. (Be sure to oil your pan!) Flip so pan is on the bottom, then carefully peel second piece of parchment. Trim edges and pierce dough with a fork.
Trim edges and pierce
Add leftover pieces of dough to remaining ball and freeze for later use (or roll out and enjoy 2 pizzas).
Freeze remaining dough
Oil a piece of plastic wrap (I used ghee) and lay over pizza dough. Place in a warm spot for 2-4 hours to rise. Rise will depend on your starter; I had to turn my oven on warm and put the dough on top of the stove.
Cover dough and let rise
As you can see, I’m in a holiday mood.
🙂
Once dough is ready to cook, preheat oven to 425o.
When oven is heated, bake pizza dough for 12-15 minutes. In the meantime, assemble pizza ingredients. I used the following:

Small can of tomato paste (organic = non-gmo!)
1 lb. Kerrygold cheese, grated
1 tsp basil
1 tsp oregano
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 onion, sliced
Black olives, sliced
1 Tbs dried tomatoes
Leftover cooked bacon, diced

If you haven’t guessed, we aren’t too picky when it comes to pizza. I do normally use Glen Muir pizza sauce, but in a pinch I wing it with tomato paste and spices. However, I forgot to add the spices to the sauce and had already put the cheese on, so I added the spices at that point. Once the crust is done, remove from oven and let cool a few minutes, then cover with toppings of choice. This is the pizza, just prior to baking.
Pizza, prior to baking
Return pizza to 425o oven and bake for 8-12 minutes, or till cheese is melted and toppings are cooked to taste. Remove, cool, and enjoy!
It's-a-pizza!

This post is part of Fight Back Fridays at Food Renegade.
You can follow me on Facebook through the link above.

1Beef tallow or pork lard can also be used, if rendered from grass-fed/pastured animals

Leave a Reply

