Cacao Nib Walnut Cookies

cacao nib walnut cookies

So far this holiday season, I’ve managed to avoid making and consuming sweets. In fact, because this has been a huge downfall for me each year, I’ve deliberately avoided it. There’s nothing like having a little granddaughter over to put me in the mood to bake, though. Especially when she keeps asking when we can make cookies. Since we’ve both been sick, and since we were both feeling better, today seemed like a good day to bake cookies. I pulled out three or four recipes and let her pick. We actually made two different kinds, but I’m only going to post about the ones she liked best.

We used a new type of sugar that I’d never seen before. I ordered it from Pure Indian Foods when I ordered my ghee last week. It says it’s naturally purified and the ONLY 100% organic sugar in the U.S. Here’s a blurb from their website:
“Heavenly Sugar preserves most of the natural vitamins and minerals of whole cane juice. Due to the naturally higher vitamin and mineral content, Heavenly Sugar is absorbed more slowly into the bloodstream.”

heavenly sugar

Here’s my little helper, pouring it into the mixer.
Kaitlyn pouring sugar

We did run into a couple of problems midway through making the cookie dough. I realized my recipe was one I’d converted in a big rush and it had some errors. Like listing a teaspoon of baking soda in the ingredients, but no place in the instructions for adding it. And finding in the instructions that I was to add some baking powder that was no where to be found in the ingredients list. Worst of all, after adding the ingredients in succession straight into the mixing bowl, I found this statement:

“Add to batter along with salt.”

Batter? And there was no hint as to what it was I was supposed to add along with the salt. The next line instructed me to add the salt with the flour! At that point we were totally winging it, but somehow they turned out fine. In fact, they are yummy! I love how cacao nibs add a tiny crunch to the cookie. This was the recipe in the end:

Cacao Nib Walnut Cookies
(makes 3 dozen)

Ingredients:

1 cup of butter, softened
1 cup “Heavenly” sugar
3/4 cup organic dark brown sugar, packed
2 eggs
1 Tbs vanilla extract
3 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup cacao nibs
1/2 cup chopped crispy walnuts

Note: if you follow my blog at all, you know that the butter is grass-fed, eggs are pastured, ingredients are organic, vanilla is homemade, baking powder is Hain’s potato starch (NEVER corn, which = gmo), and crispy nuts are Nourishing Traditions style.

Cream butter and sugars together in mixing bowl. Add the eggs, one at a time.
adding the eggs
(She does a great job cracking and adding eggs!)
Add the vanilla. (She turned the mixer off before each addition, then turned it back on to continue) In a separate bowl, add the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt and mix. Add to sugar mixture, along with cacao nibs and walnuts and mix till combined. I used my medium sized Pampered Chef scoop.
scooping cookies
Well, I scooped some and Kaitlyn scooped some.
Kaitlyn scooping
Bake at 350o for about 10 minutes or until edges are nicely browned.
cookies done

For a 5 year old, she makes a mean imitation of a chocolate chip walnut cookie! I think we’re set for a while.
🙂

cookie jar full

This post is my entry in this week’s Fight Back Fridays blog carnival. Thanks, Kristen!

Follow me on Facebook through the link above.

5 Responses to Cacao Nib Walnut Cookies

  1. Pierre says:

    Oooooh!!! If any are left over can you send some to work with Tim LOOOL!!!

  2. yum, yum, yum! Looks like you had a good time!

  3. Yum! I love cooking with my daughters too! Thank you so much for leaving a comment on my food blog. I appreciate it. -A

Leave a Reply

