Yummy Spinach Salad

Yummy spinach salad

I have a sweet friend from church, Sue, who gave me this recipe a while back. It sounded so good, I went out and bought some spinach right away. Then I needed some salad greens and ended up using the spinach. Since I only shop at one store that sells the spinach and since I hadn’t been there in a while, I hadn’t been able to try this recipe out. I knew it would be yummy. Sue always brings yummy salad to church potlucks. I bought the spinach a couple of days ago, but finally got around to making this today. I really would like to up our fresh vegetable consumption. Since I discovered Elana’s paleo bread, I find myself falling back into a rut of making sandwiches when I fail to plan for meals. I was so glad I had the ingredients on hand to make this salad. It was so delicious and filling!

Yummy Spinach Salad (a la Sue)
serves 4

1/4 cup light olive oil (I recommend Bragg)
2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar (again, Bragg)
1 Tbsp honey (I used raw local)
2 organic apples
2 Tbsp organic butter (optional)
1/3 cup pine nuts or pecans (I used chopped, crispy pecans)
6 cups fresh, organic, baby spinach leaves
1/4 cup crumbled blue cheese or shredded cheddar (I used shredded Gouda)
2 stalks organic celery, sliced
6 slices of “range fed” bacon (optional)

I started by putting the spinach into a sink of cold water with some grapefruit seed extract.

soaking spinach

While that was soaking for a few minutes, I made the dressing.

dressing ingredients

Combine oil, vinegar, and honey in a small bowl and whisk until blended. I can’t believe I failed to get a picture of the dressing all mixed up!

Drain the spinach. I opted to rinse mine with some of my “Berkey water,” because the fluoride in the water here is very high.

rinse spinach

This is supposed to come later, but I got out of order. :)
Divide the spinach among 4 plates.

gathering ingredients

I just want to take a moment to show what kind of bacon I was using. Since we don’t have any more bacon from our Missouri farmer, I bought this kind:

bacon

I used what I had left from making bacon, egg, and cheese sandwiches on paleo bread last night for supper. (I cooked it all then, because I had planned to make this salad today)

Quarter and core apples; slice into 1/4 inch wedges.

I didn’t do this next part, but only because I was in a rush. I definitely plan to try it next time.

Melt butter in large frying pan over medium heat, then add apples to pan. Increase heat to medium-high and cook apples just until browned, turning once or twice. Remove from heat and cool. Lightly toast pine nuts in oven at 325o for 5 minutes. Cool before placing on salad. (I used the crispy pecans I had on hand)

This is where I pick it up. I chopped the apple (I was only using one, because the salad was only for two people), sliced the stick of celery (again, just one for two people), and then I sliced up some red onion. It’s not in the recipe, but we love red onion and look for opportunities to eat it.

chopped stuff

If you haven’t already, place 1 1/2 cups of spinach on each of 4 plates.

Here’s all my stuff ready to be put on top. The dressing looks green, because of the olive oil. (Don’t be put off by that though; Bragg is very mild)

Ready to assemble salad

Divide apple slices evenly among the plates, placing them on top of the spinach. Follow with celery. Sprinkle bacon, nuts, and cheese (and onions if using) evenly over the salads. Drizzle each salad lightly with dressing. Sue’s recipe calls for sprinkling Mrs. Dash over them, but I opted to use some Bragg Sea Kelp Delight Seasoning and some pink Himalayan salt.

Sue’s Note: Apples may be served raw if desired, by omitting butter and frying directions. (Which is what I did, due to rushing)

Serve and enjoy!

Sue's yummy salad

This salad was a huge hit and I can’t wait to get some more spinach to make it again! The only thing I might do is change the name from “Yummy Spinach Salad” to “Yummy Spinach Salad with Really Yummy Dressing!”

You can follow me on Facebook by clicking on the link in the above, right hand corner.

2 Responses to Yummy Spinach Salad

  1. sue schaefer says:

    I’m glad you like the salad . I can’t remember where i found the recipe. It might of been on the bag of apples i bought. I’m going to have to try the diffrent things you did like the bacon. I didn’t know you could buy bacon that is good for you. Wow!

    • Hi, Sue! Thank you for sharing this recipe with me! It was so delicious, it’s making me hungry thinking about it! :D
      Thank you, also, for letting me share it on my blog.
      ~Karen
      P.S. I bought that bacon at Cash Wise, which is also the only place I’ve found the organic spinach.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

