Sourdough Pizza Crust (and Tortillas)

A sourdough pizza

We aren’t eating grain, but I still make things for my grandchildren, so I thought I’d share this recipe that I use to make sourdough pizza and tortillas. It’s a great way to use up starter and you can’t complain about a recipe that doubles for something else, right? I make it the exact same way for either. If I’m making tortillas for breakfast, I’ll make the dough at night and leave it out on the counter overnight. If I’m making pizza, I’ll make the dough in the morning and and let it sit out until dinner time. The one thing I haven’t done is let it do a second rise after rolling it out and putting it on the pizza pan. I should do that some time. Anyway, to make tortillas, just roll them out individually and cook on a hot skillet or tortilla pan. The sourdough taste doesn’t come through and I pass these off as regular tortillas all the time. It makes 6-8 tortillas, depending on size. For a neat trick on making evenly shaped tortillas, check out this post. I’ve only done this once, but it works very well.
Here are the instructions for making the pizza.

Sourdough Pizza Crust
makes 1 large pizza crust

1 1/2 cups spelt flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp sea salt
3 Tbs olive oil (or melted coconut oil)
1/2 cup starter
1/4 cup sour raw milk (or water)
Extra oil for greasing pizza pan

Preheat oven to 425o. Grease pan and set aside.
In a mixing bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt. Mix well.
dry ingredients

You can also do this in a food processor, but I prefer doing it by hand.
Add oil and mix well.
Add oil

Add sourdough starter and mix well.
starter
mixed starter

Add milk or water and mix until it comes together to form dough. This shouldn’t be too sticky or too dry. If it is too dry, add more liquid 1 tsp at a time. If it’s too wet…well, I don’t know a remedy for that, so you may want to go slow when adding the liquid.
Once it forms a dough, put it in a glass bowl. I didn’t do it here, but it’s best to grease it with a little oil.
In glass bowl

I put a piece of cheesecloth over the bowl and set it in my microwave. Any place relatively warm will do.
Covered dish

I got a late start, so it didn’t rise as much as usual, but this is what it looks like after sitting about 3 hours.
risen dough
You can see the starter has done its magic.

I roll the dough out on my counter to the approximate size of my large pizza pan. Sometimes, I use my hands to stretch it, just because it makes me feel like a real chef.
rolled crust

I usually put a light coating of olive oil and sprinkle some garlic salt on top. Bake at 425o for 8-10 minutes. Keep a close eye on it; you only want it to just start turning brown around the edges.
crust

Remove from oven and continue preparing to your liking. Bake another 4-5 minutes once the sauce and all the toppings have been added. Remove from oven and enjoy! Super easy!

I keep mine pretty simple. I usually use a mix of 1/2 spaghetti sauce and 1/2 tomato paste. This gives the Italian flavor with the paste giving the sauce the thickness it needs. I usually add a little Italian seasoning and a little more garlic salt on top of the sauce. Then I top with grated cheese and pepperoni, the only two toppings my grandchildren agree on! (And, yes, they prefer some type of Jack cheese!)
toppings

Ready to bake:
Ready to bake

Ready to eat!
Ready to eat

You can follow me on Facebook by clicking on the link in the upper, right-hand corner.

This post is part of the Fight Back Friday blog carnival hosted by Food Renegade.

Leave a Reply

