Pumpkin Pancakes (GF)

gf pumpkin pancakes

More on the fly cooking. This morning I was debating about whether to make a pumpkin pie. I’ve been kind of avoiding the whole sweets thing, because it’s easy for me to go overboard. If I’m going to make something, I will likely make a pecan pie. (I’ve been looking at crustless pecan pie recipes) It will be a good opportunity to try out my corn syrup substitute, which I made using CTF’s recipe but substituting turbinado sugar for white sugar. (Will be posting this recipe if it turns out) However, pumpkin to me is sort of like cranberry sauce. The Thanksgiving meal doesn’t seem complete without it. I decided to do a pumpkin compromise of sorts. I decided I’d attempt to make pumpkin pancakes for brunch, since this Thanksgiving is more relaxed than usual. There are only three of us here, so my schedule is a lot more flexible. Anyway, I looked at some recipes by searching “almond flour” and “sorghum flour,” because I knew I wanted to make them gluten-free. Got a general idea of what to put in the mixing bowl and began to “create.” Sometimes I even turn out something edible. Today was one of those days. The men dubbed it “Nom!”

ingredients

Pumpkin Pancakes (GF)
makes 9 medium pancakes

Dry Ingredients:

1 cup almond flour
1 cup sorghum flour
1/4 cup coconut flour
1/2 tsp powdered (green) stevia
1 tsp arrowroot
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp dry nutmeg
1/8 tsp dry ginger (powder)
1/8 tsp dry clove

Wet Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups pureed pumpkin
3/4 cup applesauce
2 eggs
1/3 cup milk or water
8 drops liquid stevia

In mixing bowl, add dry ingredients and stir well.

dry ingredients

Almost forgot this:

baking powder and soda

In separate bowl, mix all wet ingredients well.

more ingredients

Like so:

wet ingredients

Add wet ingredients to dry and mix until combined.

pancake batter

Put a small amount of butter, ghee, or coconut oil in pan and heat over medium heat. When pan is hot, put batter in pan the size of a medium pancake (not sure how much I put, but guessing 1/2 of a cup). This batter is rather thick, so you have to spread it around with the spoon. I used the back of the spoon to help form it into a circle. Cook until lightly browned on one side, turn and cook till other side is brown and middle is no longer wet. You may need to turn the pan down a little in order to get them cooked all the way through.

I’d call this a pumpkin success!!

Click on the link in the upper, right hand corner to follow me on Facebook.

This post is part of the Fight Back Friday blog carnival hosted by Food Renegade. Stop by and see all the other great entries!

Leave a comment