Sausages and Sauerkraut

sausage and kraut

Here’s a quick and easy recipe for sausages and sauerkraut, without losing the health benefits of raw kraut. I’ve made this a couple of times now and we really like it. I used my homemade sauerkraut, which is really easy to make. Being new to sauerkraut, I thought it would be good to cook something with it. Then it dawned on me that it would kill the probiotic properties. That’s when I came up with this recipe. It’s nice for those times when you want to fix something that doesn’t take much time and uses few ingredients.

Sausages and Sauerkraut
serves 5

10 sausage links/frankfurters (I used chicken sausage)
1 leek, white and a little part of the green or 1 onion
1/2 cup chicken broth
3 Tbs butter
2 cups sauerkraut

Dice leek.

dicing leek

Melt 2 Tbs of the butter in large frying pan over medium low heat.

melt butter

Add diced leek and cook over medium low heat until softened.

saute leek

Remove leek to a small bowl and add remaining 1 Tbs butter to pan and increase heat to medium. Add sausages and cook till browned on all sides. This is the kind of sausage I used:

chicken sausage

browning sausages

Once sausages are browned completely, add cooked leeks and the chicken broth.

add leeks and broth

I used homemade chicken broth.

chicken broth

Continue cooking over medium heat until broth is reduced to a thick sauce. Turn heat off. At this point, I decided to chop the sausages into 3-4 pieces per sausage. You can leave them whole or chop them before browning.

chopped sausages

Cover sausages with sauerkraut.

add sauerkraut

Cover with lid and let sit for 5 minutes or until sauerkraut is warmed through. I usually leave my pan on the still-warm (but off) burner for this.

Cover and let sit

Remove lid, thoroughly mix and serve.

mix sausage and kraut

You can follow me on Facebook by clicking on the link in the above, right-hand corner.

2 Responses to Sausages and Sauerkraut

  1. Kimberly says:

    This looks delicious! I have never made sauerkraut before, and have been looking at lots of information about how to do it, but I am nervous about it. I just need to try it, I guess!

    • Thank you for the nice comment! It’s funny, I always feel intimidated by trying new things. I’ll research them endlessly and try to work up the courage to give it a try…sometimes for months! Then when I do it I have to laugh at myself for how easy it was. 🙂
      Not that I never fail, but it’s usually easier to try again a second time when I do.
      I encourage you to give it a try. Start out with just one head of cabbage and try to use organic. It’s really fun to make stuff like this from scratch.
      ~Karen

Leave a comment