Almond Flour Buns

Hemp-topped buns

*I’m editing this post to include some changes I’ve made to the recipe.

This recipe is based on one from Elana (of Elana’s Pantry) that she calls Paleo Bread. I’ve only made a couple of changes and have made it into a bun instead of a loaf. (Her recipe calls for a special loaf pan and doesn’t produce good results in a regular loaf pan) It’s been a life saver for our grain-free diet, so I wanted to share it with you. The pan I use is a muffin top pan. You can use a regular muffin pan, but the buns may need to cook a few minutes longer. (I was making a double-batch, so some of the measurements in the pictures may be different than the recipe lists)

Ingredients
In this picture I was using coconut sugar instead of honey.

Almond Flour Buns
makes 6 buns

1 1/2 cups almond flour
1/4 cup Salba, ground (can use regular chia seed)
2 Tbs coconut flour
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp sea salt
1/4 cup coconut oil + enough to oil pan
1 Tbs apple cider vinegar
1 Tbs honey
5 eggs

Preheat oven to 350o. Grease muffin top pan and set aside.

Muffin top pan greased

It takes 2 Tbs of Salba (or chia) seed to make 1/4 cup ground. (This is 1/4 cup, because I was doubling the recipe)

Salba
(Okay, maybe I was a little short there)

Put the seed in a coffee grinder if you are using seeds.

Seed in grinder

Pulse till they are well ground.

Ground Salba

Put almond flour, coconut flour, ground Salba, baking powder, salt, and coconut crystals if using, all in a large mixing bowl. (This can be done easier in a food processor, I just prefer to do it by hand)

Dry ingredients

Mix well, breaking up any clumps in the flours, then add coconut oil.

Add coconut oil

Mix until coconut oil is well combined. Add eggs and vinegar (and honey, if using in place of coconut crystals). There are 10 eggs, because this was the double-batch.

Add eggs and vinegar
(The white stuff is where the vinegar reacted to the baking soda when I used the same tablespoon to measure it)

Stir until well combined.

All mixed up

Spoon into muffin top pan, so that it is even with the top of the pan.

Batter in pan

Bake at 350o for 17 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

Baked buns

Let cool approximately 5 minutes, then transfer to baking rack to cool.

Buns cooling

Regrease pan and put remaining batter in pan, filling to top of pan as before. (See above)

Use as you would any sandwich bun.

* Here are the changes I’ve recently made:

Instead of using just Salba, I use 1 Tbs Salba seeds and 1 Tbs chia seeds, ground. I add 1 tsp ground hemp to the batter, then I sprinkle hemp seeds on top of the buns before baking. Very nice flavor!

These have so many uses! Here I used them for sausage, egg, and cheese sandwiches.

Sausage, egg, and cheese biscuit

I found a use for my biscuit cutters!

Biscuit cutter

This post is part of the Fight Back Friday blog carnival, hosted by Food Renegade.

You can follow me on Facebook by clicking on the link in the above, right-hand corner.

4 Responses to Almond Flour Buns

  1. I love the idea of making Elana’s Paleo Bread into buns…very clever. I just used up my last two slices of bread this morning so I think I will make these buns instead! Thanks for the idea.

  2. Igor says:

    Great recipe. I like treats prepared with almond flour, so I will definitelly try it. Thanks a lot for sharing!

  3. sailorlily says:

    What does the chia do?
    Also I have a whoopie pie pan instead,do you think that will work?

    • Hi! Sorry for the late reply. We recently moved to another state and have some other things going on, so I haven’t been able to check my blog much lately. Sorry, also, that I can’t answer the question about the purpose of the chia or what the recipe would be like without it. I can’t even answer your question about the whoopie pie pan, but in looking at it online it looks like it would work! Hope if you try it, it turns out for you.

      ~Karen

Leave a comment