Green Chile Quiche

Slice of quiche
Quiche topped with guacamole

I’m so enjoying my NM green chile, but each time I use some I know that I’m a little closer to running out. It reminds me of that feeling of sadness you feel when someone you love comes to visit and about halfway through the visit you start missing them in anticipation of their departure. What, you never felt that? I guess that’s my melancholy personality coming through. Just call me Eeyore.

Anyway, quiche has long been my quickie meal standby. Maybe I should call it “Quickie Quiche.” Maybe not. One of the things I love about quiche is it’s versatility. You can throw in all kinds of (healthy) ingredients and it almost always tastes good. Another thing I love about it is the way the cheese forms a type of crust on the bottom, so no flour crust needed. And, at least for me, I’ve never had it stick to the pan even though I don’t grease it (because of the cheese layer). You may opt to do so. I’d hate to get negative feedback. Us melancholy people don’t care much for negative feedback. Although, negative feedback could be better than no feedback. Ah, but I digress. Lastly, it’s quick to put together and has few ingredients. Unless you get really creative. I originally found this recipe, sans chile, on the Low Carb Friends forum. That’s a great resource if you’re looking for low carb or grain-free recipes. Just replace the lower quality ingredients with good ones and pretend you never saw them.
😉

Green Chile Quiche

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cups fresh heavy cream (if you have to use store bought, try to avoid ultra pasteurized)
6 medium or 5 large/extra large eggs, fresh off the farm (cause who wants salmonella?)
1 to 1 1/2 cups grated cheese (grass-fed preferred)
1-2 roasted green chiles, peeled, seeded and chopped
seasoning to taste

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375o. Put cheese into a pie plate and spread all around the bottom and up the sides to cover as much of the pan as possible. (This is where that extra 1/2 cup comes in handy, although in this pic I only had 1 cup on hand)
Cheese
Yes, this cheese is white. That’s because it doesn’t have dye in it. (If your cheese is yellow/orange, check the ingredients label) Put chile all over bottom layer of cheese. (Forgot to take a picture of this) Or cooked and crumbled bacon, sausage, hamburger, chopped broccoli; whatever strikes your fancy. Whisk eggs and cream together until just mixed. Very slowly (and carefully!) pour egg/cream mixture into pie plate.
Season top with desired seasonings. I like to use this, although I’m almost out and apparently, so are the places that used to sell it.
(Edited to say, I found more of this the other day at Whole Foods)
Ready-to-bake quiche

Carefully (being careful not to slosh it out) place dish in oven and bake at 375o for 15 minutes. The best I remember, this is what gives the top that nice golden brown look. Lower heat to 350o and bake 30 minutes longer. Remove from oven and cool for 10 minutes. Don’t be alarmed if it seems to deflate. It still tastes yummy.
Ready-to-eat quiche
Loosen crust all the way around on the sides (otherwise, it WILL stick and you might have to send me negative feedback!) and then slice into 8 pieces. Top with sour cream or guacamole and enjoy. Tastes great hot or cold!

This post is part of Real Food Wednesdays blog carnival. Because this is REAL FOOD, made with real ingredients!

2 Responses to Green Chile Quiche

  1. Jeanmarie says:

    Looks awesome! I’ve been experimenting with crustless quiche and I’ve never seen it “layered” like this before. I’ve always mixed the eggs, cheese and cream. This is more cream than I’m used to so it sounds custardy. I will definitely be trying this. Not sure how big the green chilies are that you use. Can you give a little more detail? Thanks!

    • Hi, Jeanmarie. Thanks for visiting! I only use raw milk cream and when I don’t have enough I’ll use a mix of both milk and cream. It will set up that way, but I think it tastes better when all cream is used. You’re right, it is more custardy, but so rich and delicious! The chile I was using is called “Big Jim.” It’s a type of chile from New Mexico. In other places it’s usually called Anaheim. For a picture, you can see them on my post called Green Chile Goodness. There’s also an explanation of how to prepare them for cooking.

      Green Chile Goodness


      Another alternative to using fresh is to buy the canned chopped green chile. Hope this helps!
      ~Karen

Leave a comment