Green Chile Enchiladas, Parte Uno

Green chile enchiladas

Update: The enchilada sauce has been updated to include 1 cup of chicken broth. Don’t know how I missed that, but please accept my apology!

Although we are currently doing a low carb/grain free diet, I wanted to share this recipe for a meal I cooked before we made the switch. Not that we won’t be eating enchiladas, we’ll just be using a grain-free version, which I will post when I make them. This recipe will be done in two separate posts; Parte Uno and Parte Dos. (Sorry, eating Mexican food makes me want to throw around the few Spanish words I know!) This post deals with making the homemade green enchilada sauce and a tip I found on making a (nearly) perfect tortilla. Parte Dos (Part Two) can be found here. By the way, I am including this update on the flour tortillas, because these are what I used in my enchiladas. If you have a source for organic corn tortillas and prefer them, simply sub them for the flour. Why organic? 1) Pesticides 2) GMOs (genetically modified organisms)

I posted my recipe for making homemade spelt flour tortillas here. Though I love the challenge of trying to make them as round as possible on my own, I found this alternative method interesting (and handy, when I want to really impress company). Simply roll the dough out into whatever shape you can, then set an appropriately-sized lid on top of it; press lightly, giving a slight twist.
Place lid on dough
Voila! Simply remove the outer portion of dough, toss it back in with the remaining dough, and cook your perfectly formed tortilla!
Perfect tortilla
Cool, huh?
Almost perfect tortillas

And now, for the sauce.

Green Chile Enchilada Sauce

2 cups of roasted, peeled, and seeded green chile, chopped
(or use canned, diced, green chile equal to 2 cups)
1/2 medium yellow onion, diced (more or less, according to taste)
2 cloves of garlic, diced (ditto above)
2 Tbs olive oil or coconut oil (or lard/tallow, if it’s from a grass-fed animal)
1 cup chicken broth

Heat oil in pan on medium heat, then add onion and garlic. Cook till onion is translucent. Add green chile and broth; let simmer for approximately 5 minutes. Cool enough to put into blender, or do what I did, use an immersion blender. Blend until it is a smooth consistency. You can also set aside a Tbs or two of the diced chile and add back in at the end, for a chunkier consistency.
Green chile sauce

That’s it!! So simple! Stay tuned for Parte Dos.

This post is part of Tuesday Twister blog carnival.

4 Responses to Green Chile Enchiladas, Parte Uno

  1. Christy says:

    What a GREAT tip for the tortillas – why didn’t I ever think of that??? I love this whole recipe – I have needed a green sauce. Yum!

    • Hi, Christy. Thank you for your comments! I was mortified to realize I left out the broth in the green sauce. I’ve updated the recipe to reflect that change, and hope you get that information. Again, thanks for visiting my blog and for the nice comments. 🙂
      ~ Karen

  2. Miz Helen says:

    Just stopping by from Tuesday Twister. We love Green Chile everything. Your recipe looks great and I will try it soon. Thank you…

Leave a comment