Biscuits and Sausage Gravy

I decided to break from the information blogging and post a recipe from our Saturday morning breakfast.

Wild Boar Sausage Gravy

1 lb. grass-fed sausage
2 Tbs virgin coconut oil
1/3 to 1/2 cup spelt flour
2+ cups of milk
salt and pepper to taste

Since I hadn’t planned on making this, I didn’t have my sausage thawed out. I first put 2 Tbs of coconut oil (you can use grass-fed butter or olive oil) in a frying pan. Then I took the (wild boar) sausage out of the package and put it in the pan, turning it on very low (#2 on my electric stove) and putting a lid on it to steam it, stirring occasionally to “scramble” the sausage.
Sausage thawing/cooking
While that was thawing/cooking, I started my biscuits. This biscuit recipe came from Wardeh at Gnowfglins, with a couple of my own tweaks.

Spelt Biscuits

4 cups spelt flour (whole grain, white, or sprouted; I used sprouted, sifted)
1 tsp aluminum-free baking soda
3 tsp baking powder (I use Hain brand made with potato starch, rather than corn)
1 1/2 tsp sea salt
3/4 cup virgin coconut oil
1 1/2 cups raw milk + 1 Tbs whey (I used 1 1/2 cups raw sour milk and no whey; it tastes great and is a good way to use up your raw sour milk)

Preheat oven to 450*
Mix flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt together in a large bowl.
Flour in bowl
Add coconut oil and cut in until coconut oil is the size of small peas. (You can use a pastry cutter, but I prefer to do it by hand)
Virgin Coconut Oil
Add milk and mix until dough forms. Dough should not be too stiff nor too sticky. It should be easy to work with. Pat dough into large round and set on counter.
Pat dough into round
I usually continue patting and flattening the dough out with my hands and then smooth with a couple of rolls with my rolling pin. The thickness should be about 1/2 inch thick.
Roll 1/2 inch thick
Using large biscuit cutter or open end of drinking glass, cut biscuits out and place on baking sheet. (My pan does not stick, but if this is a problem you can either grease your pan or use parchment paper)
Place on baking sheet
Place biscuits in oven and bake for 8-10 minutes or till golden brown. While biscuits are baking, finish sausage gravy. Add flour to sausage.
Add flour to sausage
Stir till oil/grease is absorbed.
Stir till grease is absorbed
Let cook for 2-3 minutes (still on #2 heat), then add milk. (I forgot to measure, so the 2 cups is a guesstimate; start with 2 cups and add more if needed)
Add milk
Mix well, then increase heat to medium high (#5 on my electric stove). Continue cooking, stirring often, until gravy thickens to desired consistency. Add salt and pepper to taste.
Cook till thickened
Remove biscuits from oven. I like to put (grass-fed) butter on the tops when I first remove them.
Butter tops
Slice biscuits, cover with gravy and enjoy! Eat well to be well!
Biscuits with sausage gravy

2 Responses to Biscuits and Sausage Gravy

  1. Pierre Davis Sr. says:

    Where do you buy boar meat from?

    • Hi, Pierre! Thank you for reading my blog. 🙂 We buy our meat from Slanker’s (www.texasgrassfedbeef.com) and have it delivered UPS. There may be places in Missouri to buy it, but we prefer Slanker’s wet pack method. I like the wild boar sausage, because they season it spicier than the pork sausage.

Leave a comment